Static GK

Prime Minister of India List From 1947 to 2024 With Photo

Prime Minister of India List With Photo From 1947 to 2024: We know that India is the world’s largest democratic country. The Council of Ministers and the PM are discussed in the Articles of 74 and 75 of the Indian Constitution. Article 78 of the Constitution specifies the duty of the Prime Minister of India. During their discharge, PM acts as a link between the cabinet and the president. Prime Minister of India list from 1947 to 2024 is Jawahar Lal Nehru served our country for 6,130 days followed by Indira Gandhi- 5,829 days and Dr. Manmohan Singh for 3,656 days. Gulzarilal Nanda, Lal Bahadur Shastri, Indira Gandhi, Morarji Desai, Charan Singh, Rajiv Gandhi, V. P. Singh, Chandra Shekhar, P. V. Narasimha Rao, Atal Bihari Vajpayee, HD Deve Gowda, Inder Kumar Gujral, Atal Bihari Vajpayee served in India. The current 17th Prime Minister of India is Narendra Modi.

According to Article 75, the Prime Minister shall be appointed by the President of India. The Prime Minister is the Prime leader of the Council of Ministers. The chief executive powers of the government are vested in the Prime Minister and the President becomes the nominal head of the state. India saw 15 Prime Ministers from 1947 to 2024. The Prime Minister of India sets the date for its meeting for the Parliament session.

Prime Minister of India List With Photo From 1947 to 2024

Prime Minister of India List With Photo
Prime Minister of India List With Photo

Prime Minister of India List From 1947 to 2024:

S.L.NameTerm of officeDurationRemark
1Jawahar Lal Nehru (1889-1964)5 Aug 1947- 27 May 196416 years & 286 daysThe 1st PM of India. Longest-serving PM of India
2Gulzarilal Nanda (1898-1998)27 May 1964 – 9 June 196413 daysFirst acting Prime Minister of India
3Lal Bahadur Shastri (1904-1966)9 Jun 1964 – 11 Jan 19661 year & 216 daysDuring the Indo-Pak war of 1965, he has given the slogan of ‘Joy Jawan Jai Kisan’
4Indira Gandhi  (1917-1984)24 Jan 1966 – 24 Mar 197711 years & 59 daysFirst lady Prime Minister of India
5Morarji Desai (1896-1995)24 Mar 1977 – 28 Jul 19792 year & 116 daysOldest PM @81. First to resign from the PM
6Charan Singh (1902-1987)28 Jul 1979 -14 Jan 1980170 daysThe only Prime Minister who did not face Parliament
7Indira Gandhi (1917-1984)14 Jan 1980 – 31 Oct 19844 years & 291 daysThe first lady who served for the second term as PM
8Rajiv Gandhi (1944-1991)31 Oct 1984 – 2 Dec 19895 years & 32 daysYoungest PM of India @40
9P.V. Singh (1931-2008)2 Dec 1989 – 10 Nov 1990343 daysFirst PM to resign after a vote of no confidence
10Chandra Shekhar (1927-2007)10 Nov 1990 – 21 Jun 1991223 daysHe belongs to ‘Samajwadi Janata Party’
11P. V. Narasimha Rao (1921-2004)21 Jun 1991 – 16 May 19964 years & 330 daysSouth Indian first PM
12Atal Bihari Vajpayee (1924-2018)16 May 1996 – 1 Jun 199616 daysShort-term PM
13H. D. Deve Gowda (born 1933)1 Jun 1996 – 21 Apr 1997324 daysHe belongs to ‘Janata Dal’
14Inder Kumar Gujral (1919-2012)21 Apr 1997 – 19 Mar 1998332 day 
15Atal Bihari Vajpayee (1924-2018)19 Mar 1998 – 22 May 20046 years & 64 daysThe first non-Congress PM to complete his term
16Dr. Manmohan Singh (born-1932)22 May 2004 – 26 May 201410 years & 2 daysFirst Sikh Prime Minister
17Narendra Modi (born 1950)26 May 2014 – Incumbent  

17th Prime Minister of India

The 17th Lok Sabha elections results have been announced on the 23rd of May 2019. Mr. Narendra Modi will be the 15th Prime Minister of India. He is the fourth PM of India and also the first non-Congress Party PM to serve twice consecutive terms as PM.

About PM of India

The PM is the most powerful person in India. Prime Minister recommends the President appoint many officers. Also, he allocates and transfers various portfolios among the Cabinet ministers. He chaired a meeting of Cabinet Ministers and influenced their decision. Chief government spokesman as he announced the major policy, and then to answer questions. The Prime Minister may advise any member to resign from the cabinet or remove any minister to the President.

In this article, the details about Prime Minister of India List with photos from 1947 to 2024. provides Govt Jobs Free Alert and all detailed information on Latest Govt Jobs and job vacancy & Direct Link to quick Apply Online and also full Syllabus in the relevant sector. So, visit Our Website to find Job details Static GK like the list of India. Finally, login and Subscribe for Free Jobs alert Notification.