Static GK

List of President of India from 1947 to 2024 with photo

List of President of India from 1947 to 2024: The President is the first citizen of India and serves as a symbol of unity, solidarity, and integrity of the nation. He is the head of state of India and also the commander-in-chief of the Indian Armed Forces. The President of India is elected not directly by the people but by the elected members of the parliament houses- Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha, also members of the Vidhan Sabha and state legislative assemblies. Dr. Rajendra Prasad the first president of India and also the longest-serving president twice or more terms in office. 14th Indian President name Ram Nath Kovind is the present president of India. He is the 2nd Dalit president and the first president from BJP.

In this post, we have detailed the tenure of 14 President of India. Presidents can serve for a term of five years in accordance with Article 56, part V, of the Constitution of India. However, he may resign from his office at any time by addressing the resignation letter to the Vice-President. Since the constitution of India was adopted in 1950, there have been 14 Presidents in India. All Indian president name listed below:

List of President of India
List of President of India

Full List of President of India: Indian President Name

Sl.NameTook OfficeLeft OfficeTermPartyRemark
1Dr. Rajendra Prasad (1884–1963)26 Jan 195013 May 196212 years, 107 DaysINCThe first President of India and the only President to serve twice or more term as a long term President.
2Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan (1888–1975)13 May 196213 May 19675 yearsIndependentRadhakrishnan was an eminent philosopher and writer and also held the vice-chancellor of the Andhra University and the Banaras Hindu University. He received the Bharat Ratna Award in 1954.
3Dr. Zakir HusainDied in office (1897–1969)13 May 19673 May 19691 year, 355 daysIndependent First Muslim President. Hussein was the Vice-Chancellor of Aligarh Muslim University and the recipient of the Padma Bhushan & Bharat Ratna.
Varahagiri Venkata Giri (1894–1980)3 May 196920 July 196978 daysGiri was the first person to served as both acting president and president. He was a recipient of the Bharat Ratna.
Mohammad Hidayatullah (1905–1992)20 July 196924 Aug 196935 DayesHe served as the Chief Justice of India and also a recipient of the Order of the British Empire.
4Varahagiri Venkata Giri (1894–1980)24 Aug 196924 Aug 19745 yearsIndependentHe is the first person to have served as both the Acting President and the President of India
5Dr. Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed (1905-1977)24 Aug 196911 Feb 19772 year, 171 daysINCHe was the president during the Emergency.
Basappa Danappa Jatti (1912–2002)11 Feb 197725 July164 DaysAfter the death of Ahmed, the acting president took the oath.
6Neelam Sanjiva Reddy (1913-1996)25 July 197725 July 19825 yearsJanata PartyReddy was the first CM of Andhra Pradesh from the Janata Party.
7Giani Zail Singh (1916-1994)25 July 198225 July 19875 yearsINCSingh took over as the Chief Minister of Punjab and became Union Home Minister in 1980.
8Ramaswamy Venkataraman (1910–2009)25 July 198725 July 19925 yearsINCIn 1942, Venkataraman was imprisoned by the British for his involvement in the Indian independence movement.
9Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma (1918-1999)25 July 199225 July 19975 yearsINCSharma was the CM of MP and the Communications Minister of India. He also served as the Governor of Andhra Pradesh, Punjab & Maharashtra.
10Dr. Kocheril Raman Narayanan (1921–2005)25 July 199725 July 20025 yearsIndependentHe was the first Dalit President. Nastsrayanan served as India’s ambassador to Thailand, Turkey, China, and the USA. 
11Dr. Avul Pakir Jainulabdeen Abdul Kalam (1931–2015)25 July 200225 July 20075 yearsIndependentKalam was an engineer who played a leading role in the development of India’s ballistic missile & nuclear weapons programs. He is popularly known as “People’s President”
12Pratibha Devisingh Patil (birth- 1934)25 July 200725 July 20125 yearsINCPatil was the first woman to become the President of India and also the first female governor of Rajasthan.
13Pranab Mukherjee (birth- 1935)25 July 201225 July 20175 yearsINCMukherjee held various posts as cabinet ministers for the govt of India, such as the foreign minister, defense minister, finance minister & deputy chairman of the planning commission.
14Ram Nath Kovind (Birth- 1945)25 July 201725 July 20225 yearBJPKovind was governor of Bihar from 2015 to 2017. He is the second Dalit president and the first president of BJP. The present president of India.
14Droupadi Murmu (Birth- 20 June 1958)25 July 2022BJPDroupadi Murmu was Governor of Jharkhand from 2015 to 2017. She is the first person belonging to the indigenous, scheduled tribe community to be elected as the President of India and the 2nd president of BJP. The present president of India.

Present President of India

Ramnath Kobind is the current President of India who was elected from the first BJP party. He is the second Dalit President of India after K R Narayanan. He was elected with 65.6 percent of the vote in parliament. He took over as president on July 25, 2017, and will remain in office until July 25, 2022. We have collected all the data for this post from WIKI DATA 24.

Static GK Full List >> Click Here

In this post, we discuss the List of President of India from 1947 to 2023. provides the current president of India & govt jobs free alert and all detailed information on Latest Govt Jobs and job vacancy & Direct Link to quick Apply Online and also full Syllabus in the relevant sector. So, visit Our Website to find Job details & also the Indian president’s name PDF. Finally, login and Subscribe for Free Jobs alert Notification.

Static GK

Highest Mountain in the World ListList of Presidents of India from 1947 to 2024
States and Capitals of India, UTs of IndiaList of Prime Minister of India from 1947 to 2024 with Photo
International Organisations and Headquarters & HeadList of Governor of India Name of all State
Latest Chief Minister and Governor of IndiaChief Minister of India: Current CM of India – all States
Nobel Prize Winners in India ListList of President of India from 1947 to 2024